Following a £14.2 million refurbishment and over two years work, Hastings Pier has re-opened to the public.
Built in 1872, the attraction was gutted by a fire in 2010, and its renovation has included the replacement of damaged support pillars and steel beams, and the introduction of new decking the length of the 910-foot structure.
Materials saved from the original pier have also been used where appropriate on the 21st-century update, which incudes small shops selling crafts, pier-related merchandise and refreshments, as well as a full service restaurant and fairground rides.
A two-storey visitor centre in the middle of the pier, housing a bistro and a digital archive of different aspects of the structure’s history, will open later in the year and visitors can already make use of its roof terrace café.
This building also features terraces from which audiences can watch performances, and larger scale events will take place including outdoor cinema screenings, farmers’ markets, Christmas markets, an ice rink and, over the August Bank Holiday weekend, a summer circus.
For further information telephone 01424 435587