DERBYSHIRE’S Crich Tramway Village, home of the National Tramway Museum, has opened its brand new £1 million Exhibition and Learning Centre in the disused stone workshop that once served George Stephenson’s Railway.
Built in 1841, the two-storey building stands at the heart of the museum site. It was originally used as a smithy and wagon works for Stephenson’s one-metre gauge mineral railway to transport limestone from what was then Crich Cliff Quarry to kilns at Ambergate.
The newly-restored building links to the existing Workshop Viewing Gallery via an enclosed walkway to provide a visitor ‘welcome’ and exhibition space, which will tell the story of the earliest tramways and link the site at Crich to George Stephenson and his mineral railway.
A discount is offered for groups of 10 or more.
For further information
Telephone 01773 854321